Fire Ants!

This weekend my friend Lisa visited Pat & me, and to celebrate, I donned my fantastic Charlotte Taylor fire-ant-print maxi dress. We headed out to brunch on Saturday morning — and on the way, passed my closet.

Kate's Closet. Photo by Lisa.

Kate's Closet. Photo by Lisa.

(It must be my closet, because the sign says so!)

Once we reached our destination — Plow — we had a bit of a wait, so I decided to snap a couple of pics of Lisa.

Lisa. In black. 'Cause that's how she rolls.

Lisa. In black. 'Cause that's how she rolls.

The thing about Lisa is that she always wears black. ALWAYS. (We kinda have totally different styles, in case you can’t tell from the photos.) She looks amazing, but bright colors make everything better. *nods sagely* Hence the mural!

The colorful mural totally brings out Lisa's eyes. Or something.

The colorful mural totally brings out Lisa's eyes. Or something.

And then the wait was over and it was time for FOOD!

Plow's namesake breakfast, The Plow. Nom!

Plow's namesake breakfast, The Plow. Nom!

And HUGS!

Lisa and Pat crazy hug!

Lisa and Pat crazy hug!

And then we headed back home. And found some flowers along the way!

Fire ants and red roses. Photo by Lisa.

Fire ants and red roses. Photo by Lisa.

In the evening we went to the Chinese New Year’s Parade, but my camera died. *sadface* So I have to see if I can swipe some pictures from Lisa . . .

When we got home, to make up for lost photo time, Pat took some artsy photos of us on the roof. Oh, and it’s kinda hard to see here, but Lisa was rocking a red shirt — that she bought at Kate’s Closet. (It was a necessity for the Chinese New Year’s Parade, really.)

Kate and Lisa strike a pose. Photo by Pat Zimmerman.

Kate and Lisa strike a pose. Photo by Pat Zimmerman.

Gasp! Photo by Pat Zimmerman.

Gasp! Photo by Pat Zimmerman.

And so ended day 1 of Lisa’s visit. :)

Dress: Charlotte by Charlotte Taylor Fire Ants Maxi Dress via Anthropologie
Cardigan: Pointelle-ism Cardigan, Tulle via ModCloth
Shoes: Red-y Steady Flat via ModCloth
Earrings: gifted
Necklace: vintage

14 thoughts on “Fire Ants!

  1. Oh my gosh I want that dress!! It was so nice getting to hang out with you the other day :) more to come soon! Also, for some reason your comments were going to my spam? I unspammed them and hopefully that should be fixed, so for not knowing you were leaving them!

    Like

  2. You know I love this dress! I can’t wait to see you wear it to work again. So that last shot…kinda looks like one of my four photo booth poses. I’m a big fan of the surprised look. It’s second only to the peace sign! :)

    Like

    • You know, I don’t hesitate wearing a ModCloth dress to work that another coworker has (since there’s kinda a sense of camaraderie around it), but I’ll admit that I’m hesitating about this Anthro dress!

      Have you done a blog post on your 4 photo booth poses? You should! Complete with photo booth pictures. :)

      Like

  3. I’ve had that dress on my eBay wish list for ages. This post convinced me to go and buy it. I’m going to NYC next month so hopefully it will be a little warmer than it is now so I can wear it!

    Like

    • Glad I could help! :)

      It’s really beautifully made, and I always get a TON of compliments on it (and a few shocked looks). My favorite little detail is there’s a button inside the zipper at the waist, which prevents the zipper from getting stuck in that area. Why can’t all dresses have that little button?!

      Because it’s full length & lined, it can keep you fairly warm – especially if you wear it with a warm cardigan. Enjoy!

      Like

      • Ooo…sounds like it was designed to take into consideration all issues of wearability. I also like her penguin print clothes since my husband has been to Antarctica twice and has taken a lot of penguin photos.

        Like

Yay! Your comments make my day! :)

