1950s Shark Attack

Didn’t I tell you that I adore 1950s dresses? I love how flattering they are, particularly their cinched waists. This dress is actually an original vintage dress from the 1950s, which means I occasionally have to repair seams. In fact, I had to do a quick sewing job this morning – turns out that thread weakens after 60+ years. But it’s worth it – this dress has an awesome sharkskin fabric, and really, who could resist wide collars like these? So very I Love Lucy.

Teal and red is such a fantastic color combination, and I love how the red detail at the color makes it so easy to pair red accessories with this dress.

The shoes are Re-Mix d’Orsay heels from ModCloth. They’re beautifully made with fabulous retro styling. More 1940s than 1950s, but there’s nothing wrong with mixing fashion eras!

A year or two ago, I finally got up my nerve to try cat eyeliner. It’s not so difficult once you get the hang of it. I found a pin on Pinterest that shows an easy technique, here.

Fascinator: Fashion Fractal Hat by Ophelie Hats, via ModCloth
Dress: vintage 1950s sharkskin dress
Shoes: D’Orsay at the d’Orsay Heel by Re-Mix, via ModCloth

Curtains: Flora and Fauna and Fabulous Curtain, via ModCloth

Photos by me!

5 thoughts on “1950s Shark Attack

Yay! Your comments make my day! :)