Pushing Boundaries

Sometimes, you just gotta step outside your comfort zone.

The outfit in question.

I always wear a-line or full skirts. Always. That’s been the case since… early college. Or maybe high school. It’s partially a practical choice: with straight skirts, if they fit in the hips they’re far too big in the waist, and if they fit my waist – well, they’ll never go over my hips. And it’s a comfort choice. And frankly, fit-and-flare shapes are super-flattering on tons of body types, including mine.

But I’ve been reading other personal style blogs and getting inspired to try something new. Recently, this post on The Hourglass and this post on Girl with Curves inspired me to try something a little more body conscious.

And guess what?

I kinda love it.

(I kinda love it.)

And with a skirt like this one by BCBG, fantastic heels are required.

D'Orsay at the d'Orsay Heel by Re-Mix, via ModCloth

The whole shebang.

A little outside of my comfort zone?

Yes.

But life’s more fun when you push boundaries!

D’Orsay at the d’Orsay Heels by Re-Mix.

Skirt: BCBGMAXAZRIA Scarlett Power Skirt in Black Combo
Top: Sheer Perfection Top, Knitted Dove via ModCloth
Shoes: D’Orsay at the d’Orsay Heel, Re-Mix via ModCloth
Purse: Cole Haan Valise Archer leather satchel via Rue La La

Photos by Santina of Style by Santina

9 thoughts on “Pushing Boundaries

  1. You look amaaaazing!! Thank you so so much for posting this as part of the revolution. You look fantastic and you’ve inspired me to try something more form fitting, too. Thank you!! <3<3

    Like

    • Thanks Amy! I actually posted this before seeing your posts, but I just love the concept and this totally fits. :)

      Good luck with your new outfits – lookin’ forward to seeing what you put together! I love your style, particularly when you’re taking risks!

      Like

Yay! Your comments make my day! :)